Posted by: Rolf | May 4, 2008

A Mother’s Day Blessing for Golfer Mom’s

Do something spectacular for that special Mom in your life this Mother’s Day. Whisk her away for a weekend stay at her favorite Resort; make arrangements for a treatment at the Spa, enjoy brunch with your Mom at the country club and invite her to play a round of golf with you afterwards.

Here are some Mother’s Day golf gift ideas to help you narrow down some choices:

• A gift certificate to a major golf store (think Golf Galaxy), because your Mom enjoys new golf outfits and equipment updates as much as the next person.

• A sleeve of ProVI’s or perhaps the new Callaway Pearls, because new balls are great as long as they’re not Top-Flites.

• A tee time, because your Mom loves to play golf, but making arrangements in advance isn’t her strong suit. For the same reason, be sure to book a babysitter, if children or grandchildren are a handicap.

• New gloves and a handful of tees, because those kinds of things disappear in the depths of her golf bag with alarming regularity.

• And, finally, a spa treatment, because Lord knows, being imperfect after a round of golf is quite stressful, she really could use a massage.

There, is that so hard? No puppies, no babies, no lollipops, no kitsch in sight. You can skip the fancy range bucket and the curly ribbon, by the way. The last thing your Mom needs is more clutter.

Famous Mother’s Day Quotes

“All I am or can be I owe to my angel Mother.”
-Abraham Lincoln, U.S. President

“My mother was the most beautiful woman I ever saw. All I am I owe to my mother. I attribute all my success in life to the moral, intellectual and physical education I received from her.”
-George Washington, U.S. President

“There never was a woman like her. She was gentle as a dove and brave as a lioness… The memory of my mother and her teachings were, after all, the only capital I had to start life with, and on that capital I have made my way.”
– Andrew Jackson, U.S. President

“The mother’s heart is the child’s schoolroom.”
Henry Ward Beecher, US Congressional clergyman

“The heart of a mother is a deep abyss at the bottom of which you will always find forgiveness.”
-Honore de Balzac, author

“Of all the rights of women, the greatest is to be a mother.”
Lin Yutang, Chinese writer

“That best academy, a mother’s knee.”
-James Russell Lowell, poet, critic and diplomat

“Youth fades; love droops, the leaves of friendship fall; a mother’s secret hope outlives them all.”
-Oliver Wendell Holmes, physician and poet

“Is my mother my friend? I would have to say, first of all she is my Mother, with a capital ‘M’; she’s something sacred to me. I love her dearly…yes; she is also a good friend, someone I can talk openly with if I want to.”
-Sophia Loren, actress

“I remember my mother’s prayers and they have always followed me. They have clung to me all my life.”
-Abraham Lincoln, U.S. President

See you at the first tee…

Leave a Reply

Categories

