Posted by: Rolf | June 10, 2014

Life on the Back Nine

Life on the Back Nine 06Time has a way of moving quickly and catching you unaware of the “passing” years. It seems just yesterday when I was young, just married and embarking on a new life with my mate.

Yet, in a way, it seems like “eons” ago, and I wonder where all the years went.

I know I lived them all. I have photos and glimpses of how it was back then and of all my hopes and dreams.

But here it is, the “Back Nine” of my life — and it “catches” me by surprise. How did I get “here” so quickly? Where did the years go and where did my youth go?

I remember seeing “older” people through the years and thinking they were years from me. The “Back Nine” were so far off, I could not “fathom or imagine” fully what it would be like.

Life on the Back Nine 02But, here it is.

Many of my friends are “retired” and gray. They move more slowly. I see old people now. Some are in “better” and some are in “worse” shape than I, but I see the “great” change.

They are not the people I remember as “young and vibrant,” but they are like me: “Their age is beginning to show and we are now those old folks we used to see and never thought we’d be.”

Life on the Back Nine 03

Now I find that just taking a shower is a “real” target for the day. And taking a “nap” is not a treat anymore — it’s “mandatory” because if I don’t do it of my own free will, I just fall “asleep” where I sit!

And so, I’m in this “Back Nine” zone of life, unprepared for all of the “aches and pains,” the loss of “strength and the ability” to go and do things I wish “I had done” but never did.

At least I know that though the “Back Nine” has come, and I’m not sure how “long it will last,” but when it’s over on this earth, it’s over.

Life on the Back Nine 04

Yes, I “have” regrets. There are things I wish “I hadn’t done.” Things I wish I “had” done. Yet, indeed, there are many things I’m “happy”  having done. It’s all part of life.

So, if you’re not on your “Back Nine” yet, let me remind you, it will be here “quicker” than you think. Whatever you would like to “accomplish” in this “lifetime,” do it soon. Don’t put things “off” too long. Life goes by so quickly.

Do what you can “today,” because you can never be certain that you’ll see the “Back Nine.” You have no promise that you will live “all the seasons” of your life.

Life on the Back Nine 00

So live for “today” and say all of the things you want your “loved” ones to remember and hope they “appreciate” it and love you for all the things you have “done for them” in the years past.

Life is a “gift” to you. The way you “live your life” is your gift to those who come after. Make it a “fantastic” one. Live it well! Enjoy today! Do something fun! Be “happy!” Have a great day “every” day!

And, Remember. “It is health that is real wealth, and not pieces of gold or silver.” May you always have love to “share,” health to “spare” and Friends that “care!”

Life on the Back Nine 01

The Back Nine: How to Play Your Best Golf EVER in Later Life: A Personal Blueprint for a Better Game of Golf- and Life on the “Back Nine”.

 

Life on the Back Nine 05

See you at the first tee…

Responses

  1. This is the first time I’ve seen you blog and really enjoyed “The Back Nine” and video… real nice blog and message!


Leave a Reply

Categories

